September 19, 2021

A workaholic cloaked in skinned Wrath Demon aggravatingly tries to screw around with a huge orrery in the middle of their lab. The orrery doesn’t budge. It never really has. He feels like he should rest in defeat, but... Defeat? What’s that? A podiatrist term? I’m sorry, but defeat is not an option, and never will be. He wants to take a break but he's only been at it for 3 hours! That’s not nearly enough attempts done for a successful day! He’ll sit when you pass out. Got to push his limits to get farther beyond them. Almost… got it…

Annnnnd he’s passed out. How resourceful was that, eh?

While we're here, let's talk about him. His name isn't important, just call him Labrador. He's an unstoppable workaholic, and tests his skills in most catagories, specifically weapons testing. He's created a series of powerful weapons for Catacombis under the name "Project Labrador". What he wears on his back is the hide of a Wrath Demon, who Labrador had managed to kill using one of his weapons. He has strength. Mentally, physically, emotionally... He can’t be weak. He can never be.

An unknown amount of time later, Labrador groggily pulls his head off his cold-ass floor. Nothing. Nada. He knows it doesn’t budge, but it helps test his perseverance, don’t you think? It’ll be handy skill if he has to pull a boulder off of someone, or open a sealed door, and other practical uses. Isn’t that thoughtful? Of course it is. It might leave yet another person’s life in his favor. Better reputation, too.

There's many scrolls lining the room. He's already read them all. He likes challenging himself to see how many he can read in one day, which eventually changed to how many times he read all of them in the span of a day.

Labrador ungloves his other hand to check it for any damages that could've occurred with the orrery. Nope, his fleshy hand and the robotic one he was implanted with have no scratches or dents of any sort. Robotic hand? Yep. Labrador made it as a replacement after HE cut off his real one. Yes, HIM. There’s no need to mention his damn name. Although Labrador doesn’t think he deserves everything that he’s been forced to endure, he still has a right to hold his lost hand as an offense against him.

A notification appears on his phone.

Speak of the devil. You’ve got to be fucking kidding me.

Labrador reluctantly sees what HE has to say.

--

[Incoming message from @Kalius]

K: H-Hello?

K: I k-know you of all p-people will resspond to me.

K: Iss today n-not a good time? I can resschedule if you want,

K: If you d-don’t resspond ssoon I might as w-well just resschedule now.

L: You’ve chosen the worst damn time yet.

L: What do you want.

K: I d-didn’t know it wass that way. Can you really b-blame me for that, though?

L: I can sure as hell blame you for ruining my mood still.

K: Alright, I’ll jusst get th-thiss over with.

K: You t-told me maybe a month ag-go or sso that you were sseeing if I-I’d ever be let out,

K: And you h-haven’t told me anything yet.

L: Nobody’s telling me anything about that situation at fucking all

L: Now do you understand why I haven’t told you jack-shit since last month?

K: Th-thankss for trying at leasst. Ssorry for ruining y-your mood.

L: I don’t need to hear a bloody apology.

L: You still, surprisingly, respect my time. Good job.

K: Wass that s-ssuppossed to be a c-compliment?

L: Take it as a word of parting and leave.

K: I’ll t-try to the besst of my ability to leave you alone, then.

K: Not like I can g-go anywhere, a-anyway.

L: Shut your sarcastic flap and get going.

K: You c-can leave firsst.

L: This is not a game.

K: V-very well.

---

Labrador swears he will never understand why Kalius keeps trying. His endurance must be phenomenal to get him this far.

Still, the favor he asked for months ago may never be fulfilled. Giving up would be the best option for the guy. After every lifelong scar he’s etched into his wall of sins, there’s really no turning back and fixing things. Labrador continues to talk with Kalius only because of what he used to be. He tells everyone else that it’s just another challenge you assigned himself, to see how long he can last against Kalius, but he might as well be honest with himself now.

He was quite the amazing ally before he snapped.